Whence, stories?

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Cool Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jean Sica-Lieber

    The Psychology Today articles poses an interesting question. I would never have even thought to ask it, because the answer seems obvious to me. It has always seemed to me that fiction allowed me experience what I had not or would not experience and/or work out challenges in my own life. Isn’t good writing that which the reader can identify with in some way? And, as I mentioned in one of my blogs recently, that identity helps us feel less alone…less separate. Because, let’s face it, we are each trapped inside our singular bodies.

    • Oh yes, I couldn’t agree with you more. Fiction is such an innate part of the human experience that throwing it away would be violently dismantling a vital body part. These notions we take for granted, however, are sometimes greatly puzzling when we examine them in isolation, and I think that’s what struck me odd with this article. Viewing fiction as an “evolutionary function” is astounding to me, probably in the best of ways.

What did you think?

